

MINUTES FOR THE EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

Held Tuesday 8th October 2024

Council Chambers | Walgett Shire Council 77 Fox Street, Walgett

Megan Dixon
GENERAL MANAGER

MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE WALGETT SHIRE COUNCIL HELD AT THE WALGETT SHIRE CHAMBERS ON TUESDAY 8 OCTOBER 2024 AT 9.00 AM

1. MEETING OPEN

The General Manager declared the meeting open at 9:02am

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The General Manager acknowledged the traditional owners of the lands within the Walgett Shire and acknowledged the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who now reside within the Shire.

3. INTRODUCTION OF MEMBERS PRESENT

COUNCILLORS:

Scott Bailey Jo Coleman Michael Cooke Pauline Kearl Jane Keir Jasen Ramien Greg Rummery Alf Seaton Daniel Walford

STAFF:

• • • • • •	
Megan Dixon	General Manager
Kazi Mahmud	Director Infrastructure and Compliance
Ernest Mhande	Chief Financial Officer
Carisa Wells	Director of People, Place and Liveability
Andrew Brown	Special Projects – Governance, Risk & Human Resources
Sherisse Fensom	Executive Officer / Minute Secretary
Arabella Wells	Administration Trainee

4. APOLOGISE AND APPLICATIONS FOR A LEAVE OF ABSENCE

There were nil apologise or leave of absence requests for this meeting.

OATH OR AFFIRMATION BY COUNCILLORS

RECOMMENDATION:

1. That each Councillor takes an oath or make an affirmation of office in the prescribed format commensurate with the provisions of Section 233A of the Local Government Act 1993 as the first item of business.

2. That each Councillor reads out loud the prescribed wording of the oath or affirmation of office in front of the General Manager and signs a statement containing this oath or affirmation of office for Council's records

In the presence of the General Manager, each Councillor read out loud the prescribed wording of the oath or affirmation of office and signed a statement containing such for Council's records.

Scott Bailey Jo Coleman Michael Cooke Pauline Kearl Jane Keir Jasen Ramien Greg Rummery Alf Seaton Daniel Walford

DETERMINATION OF METHOD OF VOTING FOR ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR RESOLVED ON MOTION by Councillor KEIR; Seconded by Councillor WALFORD;

That the method of voting for the election of Mayor and, if such an office is created, Deputy Mayor, be determined.

13/2024/01 AMENDMENT TO DETERMINATION OF VOTING

RESOLVED ON MOTION by Councillor **KEIR**; Seconded by Councillor **WALFORD**; That the method of voting for the election of Mayor and, if such an office is created, Deputy Mayor, be determined by closed ballot.

For: Keir, Walford, Coleman, Bailey, Cooke, Seaton, Ramien, Rummery Against: Kearl

CARRIED

13/2024/02 ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR ENSURING TWO YEARS

RESOLVED on MOTION by Councillor **RUMMERY**; Seconded by Councillor **SEATON**;

1. That Council note that the General Manager or their nominee is the Returning Officer for this election. 2. That the General Manager or their nominee, as Returning Officer, advise of nominations for the election of Mayor for the two-year term of office from October 2024 to September 2026. 3. In the event of more than one (1) nomination that Council conducts the election of the Mayor by the determined resolution of item 6.1 of the agenda dated 8 October 2024 and in accordance with Schedule 7 of the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021

4. That following the election, the ballot papers used in the election of the Mayor be destroyed.

The General Manager advised that at the close of nominations for Mayor there was one (1) nomination being: Councillor Ramien In accordance with the Local Government (General) Regulations 2005 the General Manager declared Councillor Jasen Ramien duly elected Mayor for the term ending in two (2) years.

13/2024/03 CREATION OF THE OFFICE OF DEPUTY MAYOR

RESOLVED on MOTION by Councillor SEATON ; Seconded by Councillor KEIR ;

1. That Council creates the office of Deputy Mayor.

2. That Council note that the General Manager or their nominee is the Returning Officer for the purpose of electing the Deputy Mayor.

That the General Manager or their nominee, as Returning Officer, advise of nominations for the election of Deputy Mayor for the two-year term of office, from October 2024 to September 2026;
 In the event of more than one (1) nomination, that Council conduct the election of the Deputy Mayor by ordinary ballot and in accordance with the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021; and
 That following the election, the ballot papers used in the election of the Deputy Mayor be destroyed.

The General Manager advised that at the close of nominations for Deputy Mayor there was two (2) nomination being: Councillor Kearl and Councillor Rummery.

An election was held via secret ballot.

In accordance with the Local Government (General) Regulations 2005 the General Manager declared Councillor Greg Rummery duly elected Deputy Mayor for the term ending in two (2) years.

Councillor Ramien assumed the Chair as Mayor and proceeded with the remaining items of business.

13/2024/04 DELEGATIONS OF THE GENERAL MANAGER

RESOLVED on MOTION by Councillor **SEATON**; Seconded by Councillor **RUMMERY**;

1. That Council delegates to the General Manager of Walgett Shire Council the functions as outlined in the attached Instrument of Delegation to the General Manager

All in Favour CARRIED

13/2024/05 COUNTBACK TO FILL COUNCILLOR CASUAL VACANCIES

RESOLVED on MOTION by Councillor **KEIR**; Seconded by Councillor **COOKE**; Pursuant to section 291A(1) (b) of the Local Government Act 1993 (the Act), Walgett Shire Council declares that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a councillor within 18 months after the last ordinary election of councillors for the Council on 14 September 2024 are to be filled by a countback of votes cast at that election for the office in accordance with section 291A of the Act and directs the general manager to notify the NSW Electoral Commissioner of the Council's decision within 7 days of the decision.

All in Favour CARRIED

> With no further business the meeting was closed by Mayor Ramien at 9.26am Minutes to be confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of Council on 22 October 2024